Biographical Sketch



Pat Appelman Levitin

In Hicksville High Also Known As  (AKA): Pat

Spouse/Partner...Peter Levitin

Were you classmates at HHS? No

Where did you meet? How long ago? We met in grad school at the Univ of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, Peter was in Penn Med School and I was at Wharton, Univ of Penn getting a masters in Economics

Married How Long? Date Married: Married 48 years - Aug 27, 1967

Children/Grandchildren: 3 children - twins and a single, 5 grandchildren and one on the way

Where do you currently live?: Greensboro, North Carolina

Favorite Subject in High School: Political Science, History and Spanish


Favorite Place to meet Friends Outside of School: Sweet Shop

Favorite Non-Academic School Club or Activity:  Student Government

Occupation/Trade/Profession: Middle School Teacher, Professional Calligrapher, Marketing and Sales for various companies, working at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro  since 2002, now as Assistant Director recruiting students for a special program UNCG in 3 were students can graduate in 3 years or less.

Education Beyond High School: Hofstra University BA in Economics, Univ of Pennsylvania MA in Economics, Univ of North Carolina BFA in Sculpture (metal)

Military Service:  None

Hobbies/Pastimes: Calligraphy, art, knitting, crochet, movies, travel

One thing that no one knows about me is: My passion for life and love of exercise and working out. I also was a metal sculptor - welding!!

Now the hard one. Tell us what we need to know...50 years in the space below:

I have had an incredible life - married to a really special man who has given me 3 children (twins and a single) who in turn have given us 5 grandchildren (twin girls and 3 boys) and another girl on the way in late December. Peter and I have traveled extensively throughout Europe and some in South America . I have also traveled to developing countries with my youngest son who is an international musician.

I have been a professional calligrapher for over 30 years with my own business as well as a marketing consulting business. I still work 29 hours a week for the University of North Carolina at Greensboro recruiting students. My husband is mostly retired and works about 10 hours a week, leaving us lots of time to visit grandkids and travel. We both enjoy incredibly great health.

Finally, if you had to do it all over again, I would...

Probably get my PhD!!! I would also have traveled to the Far East when I was younger.